Syracuse University Press home website

 Jew­ish Book Coun­cil praises Café Shi­ra

“A one-of-a-kind book about a one-of-a-kind busi­ness in a one-of-a-kind city, Café Shi­ra presents a nuanced, humor­ous, and fas­ci­nat­ing pic­ture of human­i­ty set in a renowned café in the heart of Jerusalem. . . . Café Shi­ra is a point­ed and unusu­al look at the ways peo­ple live their lives. What shows on the sur­face can be a hint to, or a com­plete mis­di­rec­tion of, the emo­tions, thoughts, and dreams that oth­ers can­not see.”—Michal Hoschan­der Malen, Jew­ish Book Coun­cil

Diary of a Lonely Girl featured in The New York Times

Diary of a Lonely Girl, or The Battle against Free Love was featured in the New York Times article “How Yiddish Scholars Are Rescuing Women’s Novels From Obscurity” by Joseph Berger on Feb. 6, 2022 “In Diary of a Lonely Girl, or the Battle Against Free Love, a sendup of the socialists, anarchists and intellectuals who populated New York’s Lower East Side in the early 20th century, Miriam Karpilove writes from the perspective of a sardonic young woman frustrated by the men’s advocacy of unrestrained sexuality and their lack of concern about the consequences for her. . . . “ Read…

Choice highly recommends Declaring Disaster

Declaring Disaster: Buffalo’s Blizzard of ’77 and the Creation of FEMA was highly recommended. “[T]he spellbinding account of the 1977 snow disaster in Buffalo, New York . . . [O]ne of the finest political history accounts this reviewer has encountered.”—Choice

New York Journal of Books reviews David Tatham latest book

New York Journal of Books reviews Winslow Homer and His Cullercoats Paintings: An American Artist in England’s North East “Homer was an expressive artistic powerhouse, and the Cullercoats work proves his versatility. . . . Art historian David Tatham presents a well-researched and well-written assessment of Homer’s work during this 18 month period (1881–1882). Read the full review

Politics, Culture, and the Irish American Press named a Tankard Book Award finalist

Politics, Culture, and the Irish American Press: 1784-1963 was named a finalist for the 2021 Tankard Book Award from the Association of Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. “This volume advances current scholarship by providing one of the most comprehensive inquiries into the historical, political, and cultural impacts of the Irish American press. It would certainly be a welcome addition to academic bookshelves, and any of its chapters would enhance the syllabi of journalism history courses.”—American Journalism